10 Minute Supervisor Trainings



May 2025

Soil and Water Conservation Commission

What is the Soil and Water Conservation Commission?

The commission is made up of 9 conservation district supervisors. One supervisor from each area outlined in the map below. These supervisors are appointed by the secretary of the Energy and Environment Cabinet with the approval of the governor. (KRS 146.090)



The Soil and Water Conservation Commission (SWCC) is made up of no more than 5 members of the same political party.

Commissioners are appointed for 4-year terms. At the end of their term or in the case of a vacancy the Kentucky Association of Conservation Districts (KACD) will solicit candidates from conservation districts to fill the open commission seat. KACD will submit two names to the Secretary of the Energy and Environment Cabinet.

The following persons are advisory members of the commission: the secretary of the Energy and Environment Cabinet, the Commissioner of Agriculture, the director of the agricultural experiment station, the director of vocational education, and the state conservationist of the United States Department of Agriculture.

Powers of The Soil and Water Conservation Commission

- Represent the counties in the area. Please contact your commissioner if you have suggestions or questions.
- Administer State Cost Share Funds
 - The SWCC administers state cost share funds, but the state legislation determines the funds available and application rules.
 - The Commission can establish the practices eligible for cost share funds, prioritize applications, and the limits of cost sharing.
 - Local conservation districts determine the eligibility of persons applying for funds.
- Can take any action it considers necessary to assist conservation districts, agricultural districts, or watershed conservancy districts to carry out their duties.
- Can take any action it may consider necessary or proper in relation to flood control, drainage, and other activities with respect to the conservation, utilization, or control of soil or water resources.
- May request the secretary of the Energy and Environment Cabinet to promote administrative regulations that may be necessary to the performance of the commission's duties.
- May enter and execute any agreements or legal instruments that may be necessary.
- Can acquire supplies, materials, equipment, and warehousing for any of those materials as well as servicing and maintenance.
- Appoint supervisors to local county conservation districts in the event of a vacancy.

The SWCC also assists and delivers Division of Conservation programs.

This includes:

- Approving environmental grants
- Approving new or amended agricultural districts
- Recertifying agricultural districts
- Reviewing and accepting District in Good Standing reports
- Approve incentive per diem rates for conservation district supervisors
- · Other duties as needed

Current commissioners:

Area 1 – Don Overbey (Calloway County)

Area 2 – Jeff Rice (Daviess County)

Area 3 – Danny Shipley, Chair (Allen County)

Area 4 – Bill Harned (Bullitt County)

Area 5 - currently vacant

Area 6 – Keith Tingle (Scott County)

Area 7 – currently vacant

Area 8 – Lenville Martin (Floyd County)

Area 9 – Denise Hoffman (Owsley County)